Anoushka Shankar - Shiraz

Buy tickets
September 2021

Program and cast


Sitar: Anoushka Shankar

Cello, piano: Danny Keane
Clarinet: Arun Ghosh
Violin: Preetha Narayanan
Flute: Graeme Blevins
Mridangam, ghaṭam, jaw harp, kanjira: Pirashanna Thevarajah
Tabla, tabla bass: Sanju Sahai
Pump organ, moog synthesizer, modular synthesizers: Christopher Kemsley


Film score: Anoushka Shankar
Orchestral arrangement: Julian Hepple, Danny Keane
Sound design: Dennis Fernandez, Julian Hepple
Musical supervisor: Julian Hepple
Video technology: John Brown

Müpa Budapest

When Müpa Budapest, Hungary and its capital's new cultural hub, opened in 2005, it was built to represent more than 100 years of Hungarian cultural history. As a conglomeration of cultural venues, the building has no precedent in 20th century Hungarian architecture and has no peers in the whole of Central Europe.

The creators of this ambitious project, the Trigránit Development Corporation, prime contractor Arcadom Construction and the Zoboki, Demeter and Partners Architectural Office, were driven by the desire to create a new European cultural citadel as part of the new Millennium City Centre complex along the UNESCO World Heritage-listed Danube waterfront. The result is a facility whose construction quality, appearance, functionality and 21st century technological infrastructure makes it ideally suited to productions of the highest standard. The building is also highly versatile and equipped to host performances of any genre and almost any scale.

Related events